SERVICES

 

Services are offered in the domains of identifying needs, electrical and electronics design, schematic and PCB conception, parts lists, prototype building, testing and validating, designing test benches and production support.

 

We embed the required software on specific electronic circuits of your products. Whether using an operating system (RTOS, Linux, Android, Windows, MQX) or directly to the microprocessor, we can add intelligence, connectivity (wired or wireless), and interactivity (user interface) to electronical products.

 

Our electronics and physics engineering team selects or designs the right sensors and builds, analyzes and controls the complete chain of measurement of a physical and physiological phenomenon.

 

Information is useful if it can be transported and processed. Our expertise and infrastructures allow us to carry out projects regarding physical layers of transmission (wired or wireless) as well as in high-level layers of high-performance protocols.

 

Modern electronical productions need to meet many standards. With the help of our unique infrastructures in eastern Quebec, we can help companies understand the required standards, carry out tests and find solutions in a pre-certification context. A broad spectrum of pre-certification services include electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), acoustics, and electrical safety according to the relevant standards (FDA, IEC, FCC, IC, EN, CISPR, UL, NEMA, CSA, AINSI, IEEE, SAE, etc.).

 

Thanks to our expertise in experimentation and intelligent systems, we can offer our services in the following areas: statistical analysis, empirical modeling, and design of experiments (DOE). Furthermore, our expertise in advanced and applied mathematics allows us to offer services in the development and support of advanced intelligent systems, expert systems, and artificial intelligence. Mathematical tools such as MATLAB® allow us to carry out projects quickly and efficiently.

 

The development of electromedical products requires a high level of expertise and rigour because of their impact on the patients’ health and quality of life. Novika’s team includes experienced engineers and scientists as well as nursing and microbiology teachers-researchers who worked over 100,000 hours in the medical domain over the last ten years.

RECENT PROJECTS

 

The  medical and surgical bed was designed to maximise the control of infections and reduce the risks of falls whilst offering unparalleled value and performance. The Novika team includes engineers, technologists, programmers and teachers in the domains of Nursing, Microbiology and Physics Engineering Technology. They were involved in the development of several parts of the Ook Snow, including the scale system and a detection system for bed exit to reduce fall risks, a tactile screen, infection control and pre-certification according to medical standards for electrical safety and electromagnetic compliance.

 

Client :  Umano Medical  //  Project manager :  Luc Landry

 

The LINK is a piece of equipment installed under a car seat that allows the seat and its occupant to be moved completely out of the car, thus allowing for easier transfer to a wheelchair. A Novika team including engineers, technologists and programmers participated in the design of the LINK system. The system is made up of two custom circuit boards. The first controls the three motors depending on the encoders, and the second is used in the control handle. An Android application was also made to allow for the installation, configuration and diagnostics of the LINK system.

 

Client :  Adapt Solutions  //  Project manager :  Éric Lacasse

 

These electrical appliances are used to prepare glass disks for XRF analysis and for the ICP and AA analysis of borate and peroxide solutions. The LeNeo fusion apparatus has one position whilst the TheOx Advanced has six fusing positions and is used mainly in laboratories dealing with a very large number of samples. Novika participated in the power electronic design of these appliances. The heating elements used for fusing required a specific power supply that needed to be very reliable and robust. The Theox apparatus in particular needed a very high power factor to allow for a single-phase power supply. These appliances are sold throughout the world and switch-mode power supply design was done in accordance with the applicable standards.

 

Client :  Claisse  //  Project manager :  Éric Lacasse

 

The VoltaTM is the new pellet stove from OsburnTM. It is very quiet (minimum power of 45dB at 2m), but what makes it stand out from its competitors is its DC current mode. It can be connected easily to a secondary energy source, such as batteries or a solar panel system, thus allowing for continuous functioning in the event of a power outage. These stoves are sold worldwide and the continuous current power supply is very advantageous. By ensuring the design and the smooth integration of physics, acoustics, thermal and electronic elements in the product, Novika and its multidisciplinary team helped the manufacturer build a standout product.

 

Client :  Fabricant de poêle international (SBI)  //  Project manager :  Sylvain Dufour

 

Vision Gestion is a management system for intraocular lenses that allows savings by reducing losses and thefts, and through expiration management. Novika provided mechanical and electronic design.

 

Client :  Solutions DMI  //  Project manager :  Jean Bergeron

 

Montel is a company developing mobile shelving. Always eager to satisfy its clients and stay ahead of market needs, Montel has collaborated with Novika for more than 25 years on making technological improvements to shelving systems. Work done on the fourth generation of circuit board development allows, among other things, for long distance control and maintenance using a smartphone, tablet or computer.

 

Client :  Montel  //  Project manager :  Gervais Constant

 

During a previous project entitled «Biomechanical analysis platform for lower limbs», Novika collaborated with Victhom to develop a prototype allowing for the analysis of a person’s legs whilst walking. This platform was aimed at democratizing systems used in research laboratories in order to offer a similar system in clinical evaluations and is currently awaiting a « Biomechanical analysis and validation system and method (1727-B01 USP) » patent. The current project consists of finishing the development of the platform and demonstrating a prototype of the real system in an operational context.

 

Client :  Laboratoire Victhom  //  Project manager :  Gervais Constant

 

The ecoAZUR system is a control system that optimises commercial kitchen ventilation in order to provide maximum comfort and energy savings. Seeking to standout from the competition, the client in collaboration with Novika recently developed two innovative units allowing for optimal performance management of the ecoAZUR system. The two units were tested in a controlled environment to validate the prototype. Novika is currently working on improving the system and will shortly carry out further tests in operational environments.

 

Client :  Intellinox  //  Project manager :  Gervais Constant

 

The essential for an authentic wine cellar. This sophisticated temperature stabilizer provides the best conservation conditions to wines to lay down with the precision of a laboratory apparatus. Its cooling mechanism acts without any noise or temperature variations. Exceeding the requirements for optimal aging, the Cube° is the only system approved by the Canadian Association of Professional Sommeliers. E-cool, the technology at the heart of the Cube°, provides an unfailing accuracy. Currently patent pending, this cutting-edge technology is an advance in the field of mechanized wine cellars. Novika’s team assisted The Wine Square (www.thewinesquare.com) from the design stage all through to the product marketing.

 

Client :  The Wine Square  //  Project manager :  Éric Lacasse

TEAM

Luc Landry
Luc Landry, P.Eng.
Head of Department, Project Manager, Electrical Engineer
Expertises : electronics, medical electric equipment, electrical safety and electromagnetic compatibility standardization
  (418) 856-4350, ext. 109
Eric Lacasse
Éric Lacasse, P.Eng.
Project Manager, Electrical Engineer
Expertises : power electronics, project management, EMC
  (418) 856-4350, ext. 119
Gervais Constant
Gervais Constant, P.Eng.
Project Manager, Computer Engineer
Expertises : embedded computing, networking, project management
  (418) 856-4350, ext. 148
Guillaume Caron
Guillaume Caron, P.Eng.
Project Manager, Electromechanical Engineer
Expertises : electronics, LabVIEW™, embedded computing, acoustics, physics
Daniel Beaulieu
Daniel Beaulieu
Electronics Technician
Expertises : EMC, computer-assisted design for electrical circuits
David Aubut
David Aubut
Testing Technologist
Expertises : physics, LabVIEW™, Tests Bench Design, acoustics
Jacques Pelletier
Jacques Pelletier
Electromechanical Technologist
Expertise : electromechanical design
Jean René Landry
Jean-René Landry
Electronics Technologist
Expertises : electronics, computer assisted drawing and design (CAD), assembly, MRP system
Rudy Belanger
Rudy Bélanger, M. Sc.
Industrial Mathematician
Expertises : experimental design, empirical modeling, data processing, optimization of manufacturing processes, physiological and biomechanical sensors, MATLAB™ programming language specialist
Stephane Doyon
Stéphane Doyon, P.Eng.
Electrical Engineer
Expertises : hardware and software design, programmable logic, IT and telecommunications, EMC
Vincent Gingras
Vincent Gingras, P.Eng.
Electrical Engineer
Expertises : electronic design, embedded computing, EMC
Thierno mbacke fall
Thierno Fall
Electronics Designer
Expertises : embedded computing, programmable logic, electronics
Clement Soucy
Clément Soucy, CEP
Electronics Designer
Expertises : digital and analog electronic design, embedded computing
Charles Fortier
Charles Fortier
Physicist
Expertises : digital physics, scientific method and metrology

EQUIPMENTS

Electronic prototyping workshop
The electronic and electrical prototyping workshops allow us to build electronic circuits, assemble electrical cables, control panels and test benches. IPC standard trained employees carry out the assembly according to standards of practice. A 3D printer is also used to create cases and accessories allowing to quickly create complete electronical prototypes.

Electronics Laboratory
The modern and high performance measuring instruments available at the electronic laboratories enable testing in both the electronic hardware and the embedded software. Clients have the opportunity to work alongside our employees to ensure transfer of technology.

Power Electronics Laboratory
Novika’s power electronics laboratory allows for development and testing of high-powered electronic products. These infrastructures can validate single-phase, three-phase, and continuous current products up to 150kW.

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) and Electrical Safety Laboratory
Our infrastructures in electromagnetic compatibility and electrical safety are fully equipped and unique in eastern Quebec. These infrastructures can accommodate all kinds of electrical appliances (single-phase, three-phase, CC, battery-run and all tests are carried out to international requirements (CSA, UL, FCC, CE, IEC, …).

DOCUMENTS

Électronique

Électronique

Électronique

Expertises

Les services offerts regroupent notamment l’identification des besoins, la conception électrique et électronique, la réalisation de schémas et de circuits imprimés (PCB), la création de liste de pièces, la fabrication de prototypes, les essais et validations, la conception de bancs d’essai, ainsi que le support à la production.
Nous pouvons embarquer les logiciels nécessaires à vos produits sur des circuits électroniques spécifiques. Que ce soit à l’aide d’un système d’exploitation (RTOS, Linux, Android, Windows RQX) ou directement dans le microprocesseur, nous ajoutons de l’intelligence, de la connectivité (avec ou sans fil) et de l’interactivité (interface usager) aux produits électroniques.
Notre équipe d’électroniciens et de physiciens nous permet de sélectionner ou de concevoir les bons types de capteurs et de construire toute la chaîne de mesure d’un phénomène physique et physiologique, son analyse ainsi que son contrôle.
Une information est utile si on peut la traiter et la transmettre. Notre expertise et nos infrastructures de hautes technologies nous permettent de réaliser des projets autant dans la couche physique de transmission (avec ou sans fil) que dans les couches hauts niveaux dans des protocoles performants et évolués.
Les produits électroniques modernes ont besoin de rencontrer plusieurs normes. Nous pouvons, avec l’aide de notre infrastructure unique dans l’est du Québec, aider les entreprises à comprendre les requis des normes, en effectuer les essais, et de trouver des solutions dans un contexte de précertification. L’éventail de services de précertification comprend la compatibilité électromagnétique (CEM), l’acoustique, ainsi qu’en sécurité électrique selon les normes en vigueur : FDA, IEC, FCC, IC, EN, CISPR, UL, NEMA, CSA, AINSI, IEEE, SAE, etc.
Notre expertise en expérimentation et système intelligent permet d’offrir des services d’analyse statistique, de modélisation empirique, de mise en place de plans d’expérience et d’expérimentations (DOE). Par ailleurs, notre expertise en mathématiques appliquées et avancées permet d’offrir un service de développement et d’accompagnement pour les systèmes intelligents, les systèmes experts, ainsi que pour l’intelligence artificielle. Les outils mathématiques tels que Matlab nous permettent de réaliser rapidement les projets.
L’équipe de Solutions Novika, incluant des professeurs en Soins infirmiers et en Microbiologie, est capable de réaliser des projets électromédicaux demandant de hauts standards de qualité. La conception de produits intervenant avec des êtres humains, dont la vie dépend de la qualité et de la fonctionnalité de nos conceptions, est une source de fierté pour les employés de Novika. Au cours des dix dernières années, Novika a réalisé plus de 100 000 heures de travaux dans le domaine médical.

Projets Récents

Le lit de médecine et chirurgie a été conçu pour maximiser le contrôle des infections et réduire les risques de chutes tout en offrant des performances et une valeur ajoutée inégalée. L’équipe de Novika, regroupant des ingénieurs, technologues, programmeurs, avec l’aide des professeurs en Soins infirmiers, en Microbiologie et en Technologie du génie physique a participé au développement de plusieurs parties du Ook Snow, dont le système de balance et de détection de sortie de lit pour réduire les risques, l’écran tactile, le contrôle des infections et la précertification selon les normes médicales, à l’aspect de sécurité électrique et de conformité électromagnétique.
Client : Umano Medical // Responsable de projets : Luc Landry
Le LINK est un équipement qui s’installe sous le siège d’un véhicule automobile et qui permet de sortir le siège et son occupant complètement à l’extérieur, facilitant ainsi le transfert de la personne du siège au fauteuil roulant Le personnel de Solutions Novika, regroupant des ingénieurs, technologues et programmeurs, a participé à la conception du LINK. Le système est constitué de deux cartes électroniques sur mesure. La première permet de contrôler les trois moteurs en fonction des encodeurs. L’autre est utilisée dans la manette de contrôle. Une application Android a aussi été faite. Cette application permet l’installation, la configuration et le diagnostic du LINK.
Client : Adapt Solutions // Responsable de projets : Éric Lacasse
Ces appareil électrique sert à préparer des disques de verre pour l’analyse par XRF ainsi que des solutions au borate et au peroxyde pour l’analyse par ICP et AA. L’appareil de fusion LeNeo a une position, l’appareil de fusion TheOx Advanced a six positions de fusion et est principalement conçu pour les laboratoires qui doivent traiter un grand nombre d’échantillons. Solutions Novika a participé à la conception de l’électronique de puissance de ces appareils. Les éléments chauffants utilisés pour faire de la fusion nécessitent une alimentation très spéciale. Les alimentations conçues pour ces appareils se doivent d’être très fiables et robustes. La grande puissance de ces appareils, en particulier l’appareil THEOX, nécessite un facteur de puissance très élevé pour permettre l’utilisation d’une alimentation monophasée. Ces appareils sont vendus partout dans le monde. Il faut donc qu’ils soient approuvés en conséquence pour la sécurité électrique et la compatibilité électromagnétique. La conception des alimentations à découpage a donc été faite afin de se conformer à ces normes.
Client : Claisse // Responsable de projets : Éric Lacasse
Le Volta™ est le nouveau poêle à granules de Osburn™. Il est très silencieux, soit 45 dB à 2 mètres (à puissance minimale). Mais la caractéristique majeure qui le démarque de ses concurrents est son fonctionnement en courant continu. Il peut donc facilement être relié à une source d’énergie secondaire, comme des batteries ou un système de panneaux solaires, pour ainsi offrir un fonctionnement sans interruption malgré une coupure de courant. Ces appareils sont vendus partout dans le monde. L’alimentation en courant continu est alors un avantage important. Solutions Novika a assuré la conception et l’intégration harmonieuse de la physique, de l’acoustique, de la thermique et de l’électronique dans ce produit. Notre équipe multidisciplinaire a donc réussi à aider le fabricant à réaliser un produit qui se démarque.
Client : Fabricant de poêle international (SBI) // Responsable de projets : Sylvain Dufour
Le Vision Gestion est un terminal de gestion pour des lentilles intraoculaires. Cet équipement permet de réaliser des économies en réduisant les pertes, le vol, en gérant la péremption, etc. La conception mécanique et électronique a été réalisée par Solutions Novika.
Client : Solutions DMI // Responsable de projets : Jean Bergeron
Montel est une entreprise œuvrant dans le domaine des étagères mobiles. Soucieuse de satisfaire sa clientèle, et pour anticiper les besoins du marché, Montel travaille depuis plus de 25 ans avec Solutions Novika afin d’apporter des améliorations technologiques à ses systèmes d’étagères. Ainsi, notons que les développements réalisés sur la quatrième génération de la carte électronique permettront notamment d’effectuer un contrôle et de la maintenance à distance via un téléphone intelligent, une tablette ou un ordinateur.
Client : Montel // Responsable de projets : Gervais Constant
Los du précédent projet intitulé « Plateforme d’analyse biomécanique des membres inférieurs », Solutions Novika, en collaboration avec Victhom, a développé un prototype permettant de faire l’analyse des membres inférieurs d’une personne lors d’un cycle de marche. Cette plateforme visait à démocratiser les systèmes utilisés dans les laboratoires de recherche afin d’offrir un système semblable pour les milieux cliniques. Cette plateforme est présentement en attente d’un brevet « Biomechanical analysis and validation system and method (1727-B01 USP) ». Le projet actuel consiste à terminer le développement de cette plateforme et à faire la démonstration d’un prototype du système réel dans un milieu opérationnel.
Client : Laboratoire Victhom // Responsable de projets : Gervais Constant
Le système ecoAZUR est un puissant système de contrôle qui optimise la ventilation d’une cuisine commerciale pour donner un maximum d’économie et de confort. Le Client désirant se démarquer de la compétition actuelle a récemment développé, en collaboration avec Novika, deux modules innovants dans le domaine qui permettent d’optimiser la gestion des performances du système ecoAZUR. Les deux modules ont été testés en environnement contrôlé afin de valider le prototype. Solutions Novika travaille actuellement à l’optimisation du système et réalisera sous peu des tests dans des environnements opérationnels.
Client : Intellinox // Responsable de projets : Gervais Constant

Équipe

Luc Landry, ing.
Chef de section, Responsable de projets, Ingénieur électrique
Spécialités : électronique, produit électromédicaux, normalisation en sécurité électrique et en compatibilité électromagnétique
(418) 856-4350, poste 109
Éric Lacasse, ing.
Responsable de projets, Ingénieur électrique
Spécialités : électronique de puissance, gestion de projet, CEM
(418) 856-4350, poste 119
Gervais Constant, ing.
Responsable de projets, Ingénieur informatique
Spécialités : informatique embarquée, réseautique, gestion de projet
(418) 856-4350, poste 148
Daniel Beaulieu
Technicien électronique
Spécialités : CEM, dessin assisté par ordinateur pour les circuits électroniques
Frédéric Allard, ing. jr.
Électromécanique
Spécialités : électronique, informatique embarquée, contrôle
Guillaume Caron, ing.
Ingénieur électromécanique
Spécialités : électronique, LabVIEW™, informatique embarquée, acoustique, physique
Jacques Pelletier
Technologue électromécanique
Spécialité : conception électromécanique
Jean-René Landry
Technologue électronique
Spécialités : électronique, dessin et conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO), assemblage, système MRP
Rudy Bélanger, M. Sc.
Mathématicien Industriel
Spécialités : planification expérimentale, modélisation empirique, traitement de données, optimisation de procédés, capteurs physiologiques et biomécaniques, spécialiste du language de programmation MATLAB™
Stéphane Doyon, ing.
Ingénieur électrique
Spécialités : conception matérielle et logicielle, logique programmable, TI et télécommunication, CEM
Vincent Gingras, ing.
Ingénieur électrique
Spécialités : conception électronique, informatique embarquée, CEM